I Think I’m Losing My Brain

Track 01  On  The Evolution of Noise  By  Wahray and Soul

Written by Ric Albano Song Length: 3:02
Listen to the Song:
I think I’m losing my brain, going insane
I think I’m losing my brain

Don’t stop but turn around, look who’s back in town
It’s me again
Scream but don’t make a sound, laugh but don’t play the clown
Or you’ll see your end

Next time we’ll wonder if the world is really round
And how some of its creatures
Claim they can scream but not make a sound, it’s very strange

Live for the right to stop, aim for the very top
But never try to reach it
Act like your life’s the best, ready for the final test
But don’t ever preach it

Some people laugh at me and say I’m kind of strange
That’s ’cause I live my dreams while they let theirs slip away

And when your soul grows tired, flee from the shots they fire
But don’t look away – don’t look away!
‘Cause if you flee the show, all your secrets they will know
And then you well pay, oh yeah, uh huh

Composition © 1987, 1990 Ric Albano
Publication © 2011 Cygnus Wave Music

Song Info
Produced & Engineered by Ric Albano
Composed on April 10, 1987
Recorded Spring 1990
at Rathole Studios, Hazleton, PA
Mixed in 2003 & Mastered in 2011
at Cygnus Wave Studios

Ric Albano
Electric Guitars, Bass Guitar, Drums, Vocals

Listener Guide

Analysis: One of the first songs written during the very first, experimental sessions in April 1987. Even in its earliest form, the song was written with a free-style lead guitar above a simple, repetitive bass line, but this 1990 recording really brought out the best of that formula. The lyrics point out the contradictions of life.

Please offer your own analysis of I Think I’m Losing My Brain by leaving a comment in the box below.

The Evolution of Noise  by Wahray & Soul

The Evolution of Noise by Wahray and SoulReleased on November 17, 2011

The analog recording process has all gone the way of the horse and buggy, so it may be a good time to reflect back on this recently past age. With this realization, producer Ric Albano has decided to finally release the many semi-professional, analog recordings he made close to a quarter century ago with The Evolution of Noise, 1987-1995 by Wahray and Soul.

These recordings of original songs were all made in an attic “studio”, on a Fostex 4-track cassette recorder. There is alot of trial and error, experimentation, and development of technical proficiancy along the way.

Part I: The 1980s Written   Recorded
 1.   I Think I’m Losing My Brain     04/10/87 Spring 1990
 2.   Can’t Get Back 06/19/87 Spring 1990
 3.   A Lot of These Things 07/21/88 July 1988
 4.   Speak to Me 11/18/88 November 1988
 5.   The Deer With the Golden Eye 11/20/88 Nov 1988/Spring 1990
 6.   Free 12/13/88 December 1988
 7.   Someday     12/16/88 Dec 1988/Spring 1990
 8.   Springtime 01/07/89 Jan 1989/Spring 1990
 9.   Dark Side Suite 02/11/89 Feb-March 1989
10.   Loneliness 02/13/89 February 1989
11.   Discouragement 02/22/89 Feb-March 1989
12.   Diamond Ships 05/24/89 May 1989
13.   Blue Flowers & Beige Towers     06/04/89 June-July 1989
14.   Dry Water 08/05/89 August 1989
15.   Get Together 08/20/89 August 1989
16.   The Telephone 10/11/89 October 1989
17.   I Need Her Bad 10/12/89 October 1989
18.   Disagree 10/13/89 October 1989
19.   You’ve Got to Abide By the Rules…
     …if You Want to Play
11/02/89 November 1989
Part II: The 1990s Written   Recorded
 1.   Wilderness 05/25/90 May 1990
 2.   Best Shot 05/27/90 May-June 1990
 3.   It’s Hip To Live In Disgrace 08/06/90 August-September 1990
 4.   What Comes Around, Goes Around 09/22/90 September-October 1990
 5.   Pressure 12/05/90 December 1990
 6.   Jennifer 01/17/91 January-February 1991
 7.   Ballad of a Big Breasted Bimbo 04/06/91 Apr 1991/Nov 1993
 8.   You Drive Me Mad 07/25/91 July-August 1991
 9.   King Of the Hill 09/27/91 September-October 1991
10.   Mixed Signals 10/02/91 October 1991
11.   Wild Child 10/05/91 October 1991
12.   A Shock To the System 10/09/91 October 1991
13.   Everything I Forgot 12/26/91 December 1991
14.   Run 01/06/92 January 1992/November 1993
15.   Don’t Look Back 02/22/93 February-March 1993
16.   The Difference Between 03/09/95 March-April 1995
17.   Whenever I’m Near You 04/14/95 April-May 1995
18.   Used To Be 05/06/95 August 1991/May 1995
19.   The French Toast Affair 06/24/95 June-July 1995
20.   Take It As It Comes 07/07/95 July 1995